Three women looking at a laptop during a training session

The Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU)

PEBL is helping universities across East Africa share valuable teaching resources through the development of quality assured, credit-bearing courses delivered through blended learning. In this way, PEBL will enhance teaching quality and student outcomes, and help to address the growing shortage of academic staff faced by universities.

Find out more about PEBL

The challenge

East Africa is currently facing a critical shortage of academic teaching staff, which, when coupled with the rapid expansion of higher education across the region, is leading to unsustainable teaching loads within many universities. This situation is having an adverse impact on the quality of higher education delivery and the student experience.

The solution

PEBL is partnering with universities across the region to ease the burden on teaching staff and expand the delivery methods for a range of courses for their undergraduate and postgraduate students. Through new quality assured blended learning courses students can experience high-quality online learning, combined with face-to-face sessions, to gain degree credits from their own university. PEBL will also grow the educational development capacity of the universities in its network by building a solid base of expertise amongst academic staff in the use of effective blended learning pedagogies.


  • 140+¬†academic staff in PEBL network universities have been trained to contribute to relevant, good quality learning.
  • A nine-month online training course, titled Developing Blended Learning, is being used to develop the capacity of faculty at universities involved in developing new blended learning modules.
  • 6 modules¬†developed in the first round are currently being used by 16,000+ students in 14+ universities in the PEBL network.

The partners

The PEBL partnership is led by the Association of Commonwealth Universities (UK), working with Commission for University Education (Kenya), Commonwealth of Learning (Canada), Kenyatta University (Kenya), Makerere University (Uganda), Open University of Tanzania, State University of Zanzibar (Tanzania), Staff and Educational Development Association (UK), Strathmore University (Kenya), University of Edinburgh (UK), and the University of Rwanda.